Introduction to Chengdu University of Technology

From right: Zhao Zesan (vice president), He Zhenhua (president), Yu Xiao, Liu Jiaduo (vice president), Wang Chengshan (vice president), Zhong Qingyi (vice president)

CHENGDU UNIVERSITY OF TECHNOLOGY (formerly named CHENGDU INSTITUTE OF GEOLOGY), founed in 1956, is a key university under the Ministry of Geology and Mineral Resources of the People's Republic of China. The university campus, occupying a space of 400,000 square meters, is situated in the east part of Chengdu city, the capital of Sichuan province. The university has some 6000 full-time students. Two permanent bases, one at Mt. Emei, which is famous for its scenic beauty, and the other at Majiaoba, have been established for 500 students to conduct field work separately.

Since establishment of the university, the university has become a comprehensive institution of higher learning which offers bachelor, master and doctoral degrees in different subjects. The university has one post-doctoral reseach station in Exploration of Geology, Mining and Petroleum, several national and provincial key specialities, and two state key and professional laboratories. In the history of the university, over 30,000 students have been graduated from CDUT.

The university campus is modern and compact, and the landscaped grounds are attractive, which is famous for its scenicbeauty. The university library with 10,000 square meters of floor space built over the lake stores 800,000 volumes. The university museum, the largest geological national museum in the west China, stores 50,000 geoscientific specimens and models. The valuable fossils of Mamenchisaurus Hochuanensis, the largest dinosaur in Asia, and Chungkingichthys Tachuenses Fish, which lived one hundred and forty million years ago, are displayed in the Museum. The university archieves, which is well stocked, is one of the largest archieves in Sichuan Province.

The university has 16 departments and 60 specialities. Faculty members consist of 100 professors, 300 associate professors, and 400 lecturers. By the end of 1993, 59 teachers have received the Government Special Allowance from the State Council of the People's Republic of China for their outstanding contribution. 3 teachers have received Young Teacher Awards of the Fok Ying Tung Education Foundation.

In recent years, the university has expaned its scientific research and international contacts. The university has 300 full or part time researchers. Since 1985, the university has completed 1,195 research projects of different levels. Among them, 375 projects have won the National, Ministerial and Provincial prizes.

Since 1985, the university has accepted students from the United States of America, Australia, Germany, P. R. Korea and Russia to study Geology and Chinese. The university has established relations with six universities in U.S.A, Germany and Russia, and cooperated in research projects with 20 universities abroad. 800 foreigners from 30 countries have given lectures or visited the Institute.

The National Key Laboratories, Departments, Scientific Research Organizations

National Key Speciality and Key Laboratory: Petroleum Geology and Exploration
National Key Speciality and State Professional Laboratory: Engineering Geology
Provincial Key Speciality: Radioactive Geology and Exploration
Provincial Key Speciality: Geology of Ore Deposits
Post Doctoral Research Station: Geology, Exploration, Mining and Petroleum
Department of Geology
Department of Applied Chemistry
Department of Hydrogeology and Engineering Geology
Department of Petroleum
Department of Information Engineering and Applied Geophysics
Department of Nuclear Resources and Technology
Department of Applied Mathematics
Department of Exploration and Mechanical Engineering
Department of Social Sciences
Department of Scientific Management
Department of Computer Engineering
Department of Resources and Economics
Department of Engineering Geology and Architectural Engineering
Department of Foreign Languages
Department of Electronic Engineering
Department of Material Sciences and Engineering
Analysis Testing Centre
Computer Centre
Environment Scientific Research Centre
Dinosaur Research and Development Centre
Xinjiang Geology Research Centre
Oil Reservoir Engineering Technology Centre
Georecording Centre
Sichuan Carbonatite oil-gas Exploiting Research Centre
Institute of Sedimentology Geology
Institute of Engineering Geology
Institute of Applied Nuclear Technology
Institute of Applied Geophysics
Institute of Nonmetallic Mineral materials
Institute of Earth's Interior Geophysics
Institute of Material Scientific Technology
Environmental Engineering Geophysics and its Application Technqiues (new subject offered in CDUT)

This introduction is a modified version of the official Home Page of CDUT.